Cover art for Alice  (TM)
Published
Melbourne University Press, April 2024
ISBN
9780522880274
Format
Softcover, 272 pages
Dimensions
23.4cm × 15.6cm × 2.3cm

Alice (TM) The biggest untold story in the history of money

4 IN STOCK
Ships Monday 22nd!
Fast $7.95 flat-rate shipping!
Only pay $7.95 per order within Australia, including end-to-end parcel tracking.
100% encrypted and secure
We adhere to industry best practice and never store credit card details.
Talk to real people
Contact us seven days a week – our staff are here to help.

From Wall Street to the supreme court, how the world's largest banks control the money markets and crush competition

In the 1980s and 90s, amid an explosion in international money flows, a handful of people saw a new financial future and staked claims in it, triggering a battle to control the world's money markets. With phenomenal profits at stake, the conflict would go all the way to the United States Supreme Court, in a case that involved not just the largest Wall Street banks but also the tech behemoths of Silicon Valley.

The extraordinary story of Alice Corporation, a company created to reimagine financial markets, brings together an unlikely cast of characters- renowned author Kate Jennings, international banking insider Ian Shepherd, Enron CEO Jeffrey Skilling, German-born World War II historian Sigrid MacRae, J.P. Morgan deputy chair Roberto Mendoza - and his dog, Stanley.

In the tradition of Michael Lewis's Flash Boys and The Big Short, Alice is a story of ground-breaking insights, legal intrigue and improbable friendships. Pinpointing the likely causes of the next financial crisis, Alice reveals the fight to build a safer, fairer financial future.

Related books